Wednesday, January 27, 2010

Waiting on Wednesday (49)

Mistwood by Leah Cypess

The Shifter is an immortal creature bound by an ancient spell to protect the kings of Samorna. When the realm is peaceful, she retreats to the Mistwod.

But when she is needed she always comes.

Isabel remembers nothing. Nothing before the prince rode into her forest to take her back to the castle. Nothing about who she is supposed to be, or the powers she is supposed to have.

Prince Rokan needs Isabel to be his Shifter. He needs her ability to shift to animal form, to wind, to mist. He needs her lethal speed and superhuman strength. And he needs her loyalty--because without it, she may be his greatest threat.

Isabel knows that her prince is lying to her, but she can't help wanting to protect him from the dangers and intrigues of the court . . . until a deadly truth shatters the bond between them.

Now Isabel faces a choice that threatens her loyalty, her heart . . . and everything she thought she knew. [summary from Goodreads]

I'll admit: when I first heard of/saw this book, I wasn't impressed. I was barely interested. And you want to know why? It's just that, that cover is just so...


Yeah, you get the picture. But after reading Angie's review of it on Goodreads, my interest was definitely piqued. Now, Angie and I don't have too similar tastes in our favorite reads. But she's a fantastic reviewer, and the few books she does give her recommendation to, I definitely take note of. In Mistwood's case, it's because Angie reported that the back cover of the ARC said:
For fans of Kristin Cashore's Graceling and Fire, Tamora Pierce, and Megan Whalen Turner's Attolia books
Now, I haven't read much Tamora Pierce (I am definitely going to fix that this year), and the Attolia books are sitting on my shelf, but I already know without a doubt that they're going to be mindblowingly awesome. So the only author left in the comparison that I really know of is Kristin Cashore, and she is like a rising GODDESS in YA fantasy. I love her books. Even though they have their own particular flaws.

And so, unequivocably now, I am looking forward to Mistwood.

Mistwood will be published in hardcover by Greenwillow Books, a division of HarperCollins, on April 27, 2010.


  1. Awesome pick - Love the look of this one, everything about it screams AWESOME! :)

  2. oh, the Kristin Cashore comparison has me interested too
    I hope the heroine doesn't turn into a lovesick pawn (though with the above comparison she probably won't)

  3. Is this book good? I love the cover!

  4. I have to admit, I saw this and kind of skipped over it but after the comparison to Kristin Cashore and other notable books, I must say that I'm intrigued. Guess, I'll have to give it a chance after all. Thanks for the heads up!

  5. Hey Steph, thanks for the linkage! You're so sweet. I'm glad MISTWOOD piqued your interest and hope you enjoy it when you get a hold of it. I had to laugh as you're right that we don't have identical taste, but I love your blog and it's always one of my regular stops.

    Oh, and ninefly, I can safely assure you she does not turn into a lovesick pawn. :)

  6. I have this book in my reading pile and hope to read it soon, it does look really good.

  7. The Kristin Cashore comparison goes a long way with me too actually. I'll definitely be watching out for this one!

  8. Lovely review and this sounds like a wonderful read.

    I would really love to read and will add to my list,

    Thanks again..

  9. Good choice. I've seen this a couple times, but I hadn't heard much about it.

  10. Looks like another good one. WoW is always wonderful at your blog.


Hello! I'm so excited to read what you have to say. Due to high amounts of spam, I'm forced to disabled anonymous comments for the time being. Sorry for any inconvenience this causes, and I hope you can understand and still appreciate the content here!


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...