Saturday, May 23, 2009

Review: Hunger by Michael Grant

Book Two of the Gone series (Gone review here)

Publication date: May 26, 2009

Tags: YA, dystopia, horror, supernatural, thriller

Rating: 5 out of 5


The FAYZ is a twenty-mile-diameter zone where all people over 15 years old have disappeared. It’s been three months since the infamous Thanksgiving Day battle in Perdido Beach that involved the townies, the prep kids at troubled Coates Academy, and some other terrifying creatures—such as talking coyotes—and superpowers—like levitation, firepower, and more. Food is running out in the FAYZ, and kids are losing their once steady resolve to stay humane.

There is a divide growing between the “freaks” (those with the superpowers) and the normals, but Sam, the town-declared mayor and overall hero/daddy type, has other worries on his overwhelmed hands as well. Caine and his Coates Academy cronies have something sinister planned…but worse than that is the developing certainty that an indescribable force of evil is behind everything, and will stop at nothing to gain a form.


If you think Michael Grant couldn’t get better than GONE, the first novel in this series, think again and again and again! HUNGER completely blows the first book out of the water in terms of action, suspense, horror, and intrigue. It includes all the positives of GONE—the multicharacter points of view, the supernatural, the killer kids with superpowers—and adds more exciting components.

One of my favorite aspects of the GONE books is their ability to weave an engaging story from multiple characters’ points of view. This allows readers to understand everyone’s motivations and faults, passions and lapses in judgment, for an ultimately more believable and enjoyable reading experience. With the exception of purposely-made-evil villains, it’s easy to picture these characters as simply frightened teenagers thrown into a nightmarish life, every day trying to balance morality with survival.

Of course, the GONE series would not be such a success were it not for its elaborate and utterly fascinating plot. It is clear from every chapter that a lot of thought and preparation has gone into this series. Fans of Harry Potter and TV shows like “Lost” will be able to enjoy GONE and HUNGER’s complexity, subplots, supernatural elements, and budding romances. Basically, this series has everything, and each book’s 500+ pages will pass by in an all-too-fast flash that will leave your palms sweating, your heart racing, and your mind hungering for more from this talented author.

Similar Authors
William Golding (Lord of the Flies)
Suzanne Collins (The Hunger Games)
J. K. Rowling (Harry Potter)

Writing: 5/5
Characters: 5/5
Plot: 5/5

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5

Cover discussion: 3.5 out of 5 - If I had to guess what the cover designers were going for, the two models would represent Caine and Diana, which wouldn't be too bad of a fit. However, I most like the orange tint of this cover. If the rest of the series continues in this manner, there'll be a plethora of rainbow-colored spines on my bookshelf!


  1. Wow - a 5! And it's a dystopian sci fi. (Yep, I'm on a bit of a dystopian sci fi rampage right now, eh-heh. Mostly recently, I read Ayn Rand's ANTHEM, and I still have to get around to re-reading John Wyndham's THE CHRYSALIDS. But then again, those have a school-related purpose.)

    I'll definitely have to take a look at this for pleasure reading. I kind of agree - the cover's not exactly a turn-on, but hey, if the content got a 5 from you, ...

  2. Brilliant review! I got this today, and am excited to read it. I love what you said about the nicely coloured spines - I agree! :)

  3. Just added to my to-read list. Thanks for the awesome review!

  4. Hi Steph! Great review.

    Check this out:
    - not related to the review, but hey.

  5. Now I've GOT to get my hands on these books. Seriously.

  6. I think I have to check these out. You make me want to read the series. 5/5 is like WOAH.

  7. Wow, a 5/5!
    I was already interested in reading "Gone", but now I want to read it even more! Great review! :)

  8. As much as I love dystopia, I've been avoiding reading these. They just seem too much like Lord of the Flies. But your review just might change my mind.

  9. wow, 5 out of 5!!

    I have to start reading this series soon, it's been a while since I have them in my wishlist.


Hello! I'm so excited to read what you have to say. Due to high amounts of spam, I'm forced to disabled anonymous comments for the time being. Sorry for any inconvenience this causes, and I hope you can understand and still appreciate the content here!


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...